2 – crystal star

Today I finished the Crystal Star block. The source gives a number of different names, but I only found similar blocks by searching for the name “Peaceful Hours”. Below is an example from the Tennessee State Archives (go my home state!):

This block is nearly identical to an Ohio Star block, and in some places even appears under that name (see here).

Gloomy days make for gloomy pictures (and we’ve had about 800 straight days of chilly wet gloom here in Michigan), but here’s the finished block:

fullsizerender_1

The large center provided a good opportunity to fussy cut that cutie flower.

fullsizerender

These instructions used the “connector corners” method for the flying geese and the center square in square. I have to say, I’m not a fan. It WAS fairly quick and simple and would have given a very clean looking back. Unfortunately, (reason 1 why I did not like) since I used a darker fabric for the center, it was showing through the white, so I ended up trimming the corners all around on the center. Reason 2 is that it just gave too much bulk in the seams. If I made this block again (which I probably will), I would probably follow a different method, like these instructions from Quilter’s World.

Fabrics are Wild Poppy in Milk (center) and Wind Flower in Stainless (points) from Amy Butler’s Gypsy Caravan line.

 

Finished or Not Friday at Busy Hands Quilts

FFF

FiUF

Leave a Reply

