9 – clover

fullsizerender-1

My mom bought a copy of the Step-by-Step Needlecraft Encyclopedia by Judy Brittain when I was a kid and this book fascinated me. As the title suggests, it’s a detailed guide to almost any needlecraft/fabric art (everything from tatting to cord quilting to basic garment construction), complete with historical examples. I highly recommend picking up a copy at your local library if you can find it just for curiosity’s sake.

fullsizerender-3
One of the beautiful antique quilts featured in the book

When I decided to start this project, I remembered this book and its quilting section with dozens of examples of quilt blocks.  Lucky for me, I work at a library that just happened to have a copy. It’s full of images and short on descriptions, so I had to wing it. I decided to choose a simple block (for some reason titled “Clover”) and give it a go. This one translated easily to a series of of HSTs.

After putting this block together, I was searching around for other examples of it and found this tutorial from May Chappell. She’s calling it the “Love All Around” block and will be making them throughout the year to celebrate examples of love and kindness she sees in her daily life. I think that’s a beautiful idea, and will probably return to this design a few times this year. I also wish I’d discovered her tutorial before making this as it would have saved me a bit of math and sewing 🙂

I do wish I’d made different fabric choices, or possibly cut this one so the cream bits with blue flowers (the sideways facing v’s) were more cream than blue. They blend in a bit too much with the corners. There’s just a lot going on here.

img_3961

I had quite a bit of trouble with that bulky seam at the center of the block. I probably won’t construct this block the same way in the future, so I’ll have happier results next time.

img_3963

Criticisms aside, I ain’t mad at it.

Fabrics used are Deco Dot in Foam, Gypsy Mum in Wine, and Wild Poppy in Milk from Amy Butler’s Gypsy Caravan collection.

Finished or Not Friday at Busy Hands Quilts
6 thoughts on “9 – clover

  1. Judy P says:

    If you made this with “flying geese” there would be fewer seams. The corners would remain HST squares. Just a thought. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

