11 -susannah improv

While I was working on the last block, I decided that I would definitely be making at least a couple of more versions but mixing up the pieces (here’s another tutorial I like). These are their stories (jk this isn’t Law and Order, only in my dreams).

For my first attempt, I cut my rectangles too short, so I tried something a little different. Because I didn’t have enough length to make half flying geese, I just used a straight seam and ended up with this blocky pinwheel-lookin’ thing.

img_4009

Without the covered corners/half flying geese units, there’s a lot less bulk. This is a clean and simple block.img_4011

On the next try I actually paid attention to my cutting measurements (funny how that makes a difference :). Rather than forming a diamond in the center, I set the pieces to form a little pinwheel. I’m pretty happy with this result.

fullsizerender-2

I really love the trick of twisting the seams at the center of a block like this. It looks neat and keeps things nice and trim.

img_4016

 

Fabrics used are Velvet Vine in Almond, Deco Dots in Citrine, and Cutting Garden in Linen from Amy Butler’s Gypsy Caravan collection.

 

Leave a Reply

